October 15, 2022

ETIAS Countries


The ETIAS Countries is a compulsory requirement for all travelers who want to go to Europe. Find out more about the continent and how the ETIAS is relevant here.

ETIAS Countries That Will Require ETIAS

The EU created the ETIAS program to make it quicker and more accessible for people traveling to Europe. It’s required for travelers who want to enter the Schengen area, and so far, it’s only applied to EU countries.

There are 26 Schengen countries. Of these, 22 are in the European Union, and the other 4 are part of the European Free Trade Association. A European Union citizen can travel to any other EU nation.

All Schengen-area countries require an EU Travel Authorisation to visit.

Andorra is not part of the European Union or the Schengen Agreement. Still, Andorran citizens are exempt from ETIAS countries when traveling through the Schengen Area.

The following countries are also in the European Union. Still, they don’t yet belong to the Schengen Agreement: Romania, Bulgaria, Croatia, and Cyprus. If you plan to go there with the ETIAS, it’s best to find out if your country accepts it first.

The map below lists countries that will require an ETIAS pre-travel authorization.

Countries that raise the need for ETIAS:

ETIAS is a travel visa that has not yet been approved by ETIAS countries. You will need an ETIAS Visa waiver to arrive in these countries:

Currently, 22 European countries form part of the Schengen Area:

  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • Czech Republic
  • Denmark
  • Estonia
  • Finland
  • France
  • Germany
  • Greece
  • Hungary
  • Italy
  • Latvia
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Malta
  • Netherlands
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • Spain
  • Sweden
  • Non-EU Member States:
  • Iceland
  • Liechtenstein
  • Norway
  • Switzerland

Micro-States de facto part of Schengen Area:

  • Monaco
  • San Marino
  • Vatican City

Non-Schengen EU States

  • Bulgaria
  • Croatia
  • Cyprus
  • Romania

While several European countries have already signed the Schengen Agreement, a few are yet to do so.

  1. Bulgaria
  2. Croatia
  3. Cyprus
  4. Romania

Eligible third-country nationals planning to travel to any of these 4 Schengen candidate countries will need an ETIAS once it’s implemented.

ETIAS countries stands for the European Travel Information and Authorization System. The system will be implemented by 2021, and third-country nationals, which are not residing in one of the Schengen candidate countries, will need to apply for ETIAS before they can enter the country.

Schengen visa requirements vary from country to country. Make sure you research the specific rules of each one by going to our page on Schengen Visa requirements.

European Union vs. ETIAS Countries

The European Union has grown tremendously over the past years. Six nations joined in 1951, giving the EU 5 members. The last nation to join was Croatia in 2013.

The European Union is a political and economic union of 28 member states. The Treaty of Rome created the EU in 1957, which came into force on 1 January 1958. The EU operates through supranational institutions (the Commission, the European Parliament, and the Court of Justice) and national governments.

As of 1 January 1999, 19 European Union countries’ currencies became a single currency called the euro. This happened when the euro was introduced to replace the national currencies.

European Free Trade Association in ETIAS Countries

The European Free Trade Association, EFTA, comprises Iceland, Lichtenstein, Norway, and Switzerland. It was created to promote free trade & economic cooperation between them and within Europe, which has 122 countries. EFTA also has 29 member states that are not members of the European Union.

The European Free Trade Association (EFTA) is a region that promotes the free trade of goods and services betweeb ETIAS countries. The EFTA was established in 1960 to promote economic cooperation between its four member states: Iceland, Lichtenstein, Norway, and Switzerland.

This organization was an alternative for these countries to participate in the European Economic Area (EEA), which could not provide them freedom from customs duty. The countries opted for this organization because the EEA would only have allowed them to trade with Europe in general, not create specific trade agreements.

The European Free Trade Association (EFTA) was created in 1960 primarily by Austria, Sweden, and Switzerland. Iceland joined the following year, as did Norway in 1964. Liechtenstein became a member of EFTA in 1984 but withdrew from it and joined the EU in 1999. The EFTA countries share a standard set of rules concerning free trade and tariffs and contribute to forming a single European Economic Area.

ETIAS Countries And Border Control

The Schengen Agreement first came about in 1985. More than 20 countries have signed up for the agreement, which means there are now no internal borders within the Schengen zone. The agreement has positively affected travel and commerce, meaning it’s easy to buy anything from anywhere in the area.

The Schengen Agreement was first signed in 1985 by 5 countries. The Schengen zone comprises 26 countries that acknowledge abolishing internal borders with other member countries. This agreement is part of the European Union, one of the foundations that makes up what we know today as “The European Union.” This agreement allows citizens to travel freely without any border controls between participating.

I am writing this article in the Schengen Area, and I didn’t need a passport or visa to enter. European citizens do not need a visa or a passport to travel within the Schengen Area. The Schengen Agreement is an agreement that states that there are no border checks between participating countries of Europe. It was signed on 14 June 1985 in Schengen, Luxembourg.

European Union Single Market

The European Union’s single market (also called the internal market) allows the free movement of goods, services, people, and money. The idea is to make it easier for companies to do business, for citizens to travel or study abroad, and for consumers to buy products.

Imagine that all activity only happens within one country, and that’s the general idea of the EU single market.

The EU single market is an economic and political union of 28 states. It is the largest free trade area in the world. The EU’s single market includes a standard set of rules for competition and social policies, as well as the free movement of goods, services, and people.

Plus, Europeans have the opportunity to do any of those things in any European country include ETIAS countries.

When we have no borders within the EU, a part of the internal market system is being implemented. All this was made possible because of the removal of technical, legal, and bureaucratic barriers.

The abolition of the internal borders between countries of the EU is also part of the internal market system, which was made possible due to the removal of countless technical, legal and bureaucratic barriers.

This has allowed businesses previously restricted to the local level to reach the international stage, lowering production costs and increasing customer choice.

With the internet and global connectivity, local businesses now have the opportunity to expand on a global scale. This opens up new opportunities for business expansion due to lower product prices and increased goods that are now accessible.

Following are some clear examples of the European Union benefits:

  • International call prices in Europe have decreased significantly over the last 10 years
  • New routes have opened up
  • Flights within Europe have become significantly cheaper
  • Many companies and households are now able to choose their own gas and electricity providers